7.19 It’s Just Like Riding A Bike

TV.com Summary: Lorelai stops into Luke’s diner for breakfast for the first time since their break-up, but finds they are awkward and uncomfortable together. Later, Lorelai’s Jeep breaks down and she asks Luke to help her shop for a new car. While they look at cars, Lorelai and Luke’s irritation with one another finally explodes into a fight, which Lorelai secretly takes as a good sign. Meanwhile, Paris gets accepted to numerous law schools and medical schools, and decides she must break up with Doyle so their relationship won’t influence her choice of a graduate school. Finally, Rory gets a surprising letter that will have an impact on her future plans. Writer: Jennie Snyder / Director: Lee Shallat-Chemel

Elise’s Comment:

There’s a lot of emotions in the recent Gilmore girls episodes. This emotion makes the stories and the characters more real. It’s what I loved about the show six years ago and now it’s back.

The scenes with Paris were my favourite. I don’t usually say that. Although I’ve grown to appreciate Paris over the years, she’s never been a favourite character of mine. But tonight, her performance was exceptionnal. We could really feel her excitement and her confusion, regarding her acceptation letters and her big decision. I have to admit that the scene where Rory was openning Paris’s letters of acceptation was hilarious. Redundant but so funny.

I’m glad Doyle came back. Those two are too good together to be appart. The scene with the artsy girls at the pub seemed fake… reminded me of the pre-hiatus episodes (!)

I expected Rory to get accepted for the fellowship. Everything was predictable on the show lately, so I assumed she would get it. I was amazed at the writers’ decision. I’m happy about it. Of course, I feel terrible for Rory. It’s like I could put myself in her shoes. But I’m curious to see where the writers will take our Rory… I’m sure it’s towards something great.

The conversations between Luke and Lorelai were annoying. I’m glad to see it’s not awkward between them anymore, but the bickering was unecessary. The car story is ridiculous. I thought she would buy the newer model of the same jeep.

I’m glad Sookie and Jackson had somewhat of a role in this episode. I don’t think we had seen them in a while, since they brought back the subject of the vasectomy. But don’t they make a cute couple? And Sookie is such a mommy. I keep remembering single-Sookie fromt he first season. So much has changed in her life since then.

So I give this episode an A. I’m hoping that the writers are making decisions that are true to the characters, and not so they can set up a possible 8th season with possibly no Rory (or for whatever other unimportant reason).

Lorelai wearing puffy sleeves, on a bike that has a basket = So Stars Hollow.

[Written by Elise in April 2007]

Leave a comment