7.18 Hay Bale Maze

TV.com Summary: As Stars Hollow prepares for its annual Spring Fling festival, Rory brings Logan home and shows him around town. Lorelai sees how serious their relationship has become and worries that Logan is too irresponsible for Rory. Taylor angers the town by spending the entire Spring Fling budget on a huge hay bale maze. At an unexpected encounter in the maze, Lorelai and Luke apologize to one another and admit they both made mistakes that led to the end of their engagement. Meanwhile, Rory has a job interview with the Providence Journal Bulletin and struggles with decisions about her future. Writer: Rebecca Rand Kirshner / Director: Stephen Clancy

Elise’s Comment:

I am very satisfied with tonight’s episode of Gilmore Girls. It had some of that old Gilmore magic. It had all the ingredients to make it a great episode.

What I find a little disapointing is how they have to rush things now. Don’t get me wrong, I like the direction things are taking. It’s just too bad that they wasted that much time with the Lorelai/Chris wedding storyline. They (writers) could’ve taken a little more time to take things where they wanted them to be, without us missing out on things.

For example, just in tonight’s episode, Lorelai and Rory mention that they ran into Lane and the kids. Why didn’t we see them? No time. Not important for the final goal. They mentionned Taylor holding the hay in his hands and crying at the town meeting. Why didn’t we see it? No time. These are just a couple of examples.

What I’m saying is that things feel rushed. It’s disapointing that they have to be rushed.

There’s a scene I’ve been looking foward to for about 2 years that finally made it onto the show. Not only did we get to see Logan in Stars Hollow (it finally felt real; he connected with Rory’s real world), we also got to see him and Lorelai have a meaningful conversation. A while ago I was mentionning how Logan and Lorelai have a lot in common. Logan’s recent career moves proves that, he too, wants to make it on his own without his parents’ help.

I never thought Logan would be the one to leave his secure and luxurious world. I always thought Rory would join him and his world. I found it kind of sad, and unlike Rory. It didn’t sit too well with me, which is why it took me some time to appreciate Logan. But tonight’s episode was so real. The emotions, the questionning and the realizations were realistic. This really was our Rory from season one, just grown up.

It’s too bad that we didn’t get to see too much of April this season, because I really enjoy her character. She and Rory have so much in common. I do hope she has a bigger presence in the last episodes. I can’t help but smile when I see her getting along with Lorelai.

I give this episode an A+. It’s the first one I give this season. It might also be the first A.

[Written by Elise in April 2007]

Leave a comment