7.20 Lorelai, Lorelai

TV.com Summary: With graduation looming, Rory is anxiety-ridden over her future, so Lorelai tries to cheer her up with a day of eating and shopping. Lorelai notices happily that Luke is once again wearing the baseball cap she gave him, and invites him to join her and Rory for karaoke night at a local bar. After a few drinks, Lorelai takes the stage to sing a heartfelt number which is obviously directed at Luke. Logan returns from a business trip to California and comes to see Lorelai to discuss his future with Rory. Writer: David S. Rosenthal / Director: Bethany Rooney

Elise’s Comment:

In seven years, I’ve never missed an episode of Gilmore Girls. Never. This past Tuesday, I forgot to watch it. What disappointed me the most wasn’t that I had missed an episode, but the fact that I had forgotten to watch my absolute favourite television show. I’ve since watched it and only one word can sum up my opinion of this episode: Wow.

The dream sequence was a fascinating way to open the episode. The nice transitions between scenes were realistic. Our thoughts do switch abruptly in our dreams. In the fifth season Lorelai had a dream after she broke up with Luke. The way it was filmed was interesting, similar to what we saw this week. In this latest sequence, I enjoyed the ending, when the stick hits the ground, making a loud bang, while switching rapidly to a picture of Rory in her bed.

The conversations at the Friday night dinner were authentic, not forced. It reflects the episode as a whole. It had that feeling we loved during earlier seasons. The scene at Luke’s Diner, when Lorelai notices Luke’s blue baseball cap, looked like it was taken from season one. I really enjoyed it. I like how the hat was again used as symbol of Luke and Lorelai’s relationship.

Speaking of Luke, you can see how his experience as a father has helped him grow as a person. He’s much gentler and patient. It’s unfortunate that April had to cancel the boat trip. I was disappointed that she wasn’t in the episode for that long.

Another scene that could’ve been taken directly from season one is the one at the Dragonfly Inn when Sookie begs Lorelai to taste the meatball. Remember the very clumsy Sookie in the Pilot when she made Lorelai taste her newly concocted peach sauce?

There were many great moments shared between Lorelai and Rory in the episode. This helped install that familiar Gilmore atmosphere. Great words were spoken during those scenes.

Rory: This is your fault because you told me I could do anything.
Lorelai: You can.

“Honey, you could never disappoint me.” – Lorelai to Rory

I am so happy we got to see Lane and her twins. I was very suspicious of the touring plan, so it took me by surprise when Lane accepted to go. The scene Lane and Zach shared while walking in town was beautifully done. You could hear the melody of Sam Phillips’ “Tell Her What She Wants to Know” in the background. It was a nice gesture of Zach to want to pass up this opportunity so he could stay with Lane and the boys. And it was very much like Lane to tell him to go anyways. Things are actually going very well for our Lane.

That night at the club was such a nice touch. And the singing! From Kirk’s “Do You Really Want to Hurt Me” to Miss Patty and Babette’s “Fever”, the residents of Stars Hollow kept us entertained. Lorelai’s performance of “I Will Always Love You” moved me to tears. Why? First, it was from the obvious chemistry between her and Luke. When you re-watch the scene, pay close attention to Luke’s face. It’s conveying so much emotion as he looks down, while Lorelai is singing. Amazing. One of the most powerful moments those two characters have shared in seven years. Secondly, Lorelai’s voice sounded so genuine, she was opening up to the entire room. And finally, this whole scene made me realize just how much I love this show; how much I’ll miss it when it’s over.

Logan is a character I used to love to hate and that I’ve now grown to love. I was actually glad to see him during the phone scene with Rory. His presence was reassuring. He seems to be back on his feet business-wise. The move to San Francisco is a big one. I wonder what Rory’s reaction will be. What will he do first: tell her the news or propose? I’ll end my review with a quotation that will go down in Gilmore history.

“I’m here to ask your permission… your permission to ask Rory to marry me.” – Logan to Lorelai

[Written by Elise in May 2007]

One thought on “7.20 Lorelai, Lorelai

  1. ok, this is really off the wall. A scene in Luke’s Diner, Zach and Luke are talking about a great new dish they served for breakfast, a recipe of Ceasar’s -and they all shout it out: Chile Kelay! – I’m not sure of the spelling, and I can’t find a reference for it anywhere … any idea what it is…?

    thanks,
    paul

    Like

Leave a comment